NEWS | Scott returns for Champions Cup opener

Scotland star Matt Scott has been named in the Edinburgh backline for his side’s first Heineken Champions Cup fixture in four years.

Edinburgh face former Scotland Coach Vern Cotter's Montpellier side in their first Pool 5 encounter at the GGL Stadium tomorrow afternoon (Saturday 13 October, kick-off 3.15pm BST/ 4.15pm) - live on BT Sport.

The Edinburgh team selection sees three changes - two of those in the back division - with Scott named in midfield and Dougie Fife selected on the wing in the place of the injured Duhan van der Merwe.

Head Coach Richard Cockerill makes just one alteration to the pack as Allan Dell – making his 50th appearance for the club – is selected at loosehead prop.

Ahead of the fixture, Cockerill, said: “It’s going to be a huge test for us mentally and physically -especially for some of our younger players who haven’t played at this intensity.

“We’re not going to force them into an arm wrestle because that’s going to make it tough for us. If we can keep lots of ball, get quick service and put them under pressure, then we’ll create opportunities. 

“Our form has been getting there, but we’ve not played anyone near the quality of Montpellier. We’ll go and enjoy ourselves, play with a smile on our faces and give it our best shot.”

Blair Kinghorn is named at fullback, with Darcy Graham – a try-scorer in last weekend’s win over Cheetahs – and Fife named on the flanks.

Scott is joined by outside-centre James Johnstone in midfield, while stand-off Simon Hickey and Henry Pyrgos continue at half-back.

Up front, hooker Stuart McInally captains the side and packs down alongside Dell and the experienced WP Nel.

Scotland duo Grant Gilchrist and Ben Toolis are named in the second row, while Hamish Watson, Magnus Bradbury and Fijian international Bill Mata complete the back-row.


Edinburgh team to face Montpellier at the GGL Stadium in the Heineken Champions Cup on Saturday 13 October, kick-off 3.15pm BST/ 4.15pm local time – live on BT Sport.


15. Blair Kinghorn (69)


14. Darcy Graham (7)

13. James Johnstone (23)

12. Matt Scott (78)

11. Dougie Fife (112)


10. Simon Hickey (5)

9. Henry Pyrgos (5)


1. Allan Dell (49)

2. Stuart McInally (125) CAPTAIN

3. WP Nel (120)

4. Ben Toolis (94)

5. Grant Gilchrist (125)

6. Magnus Bradbury (57)

7. Hamish Watson (86)

8. Bill Mata (41)


Replacements: 16. Ross Ford (183); 17. Rory Sutherland (65); 18. Simon Berghan (53); 19. Luke Hamilton (5); 20. Jamie Ritchie (54); 21. Sean Kennedy (63); 22. Jaco van der Walt (20); 23. Chris Dean (69)