‘A’ team named for Knights clash

‘A’ team named for Knights clash

Rob Chrystie has named his Edinburgh 'A' side for Saturday's clash against the Southern Knights (5pm KO, The Greenyards).

The match will be the team’s final involvement in the FOSROC Super Series Sprint, with the men from the capital looking to make it three wins from three as they travel down to the borders.

Nathan Sweeney, who signed his first pro-deal with the club in the week, retains the 15 jersey, and will start alongside Jack Blain and Melrose man Finn Douglas in the back three.

Matt Currie makes his return from injury to partner Cammy Scott in the centres, with Bruce Houston and Cam Jones again making up the half back pairing.

It’s an unchanged front row, with Murray McCallum (Loosehead) and Angus Williams (Tighthead) packing down either side of Hooker Patrick Harrison.

Jamie Campbell partners Musselburgh RFC’s Michael Badenhorst in the second row.

In the back row, Rudi Brown once again starts at Number 8, alongside flankers Liam McConnell and Jerry Blyth-Lafferty.

On the fixture, Chrystie said: “Our final team of the FOSROC Super Series Sprint is a mix of young academy pros, guest players from the Scottish game, and a sprinkling of senior professional players as well.

“It’s great to welcome someone of Matt Currie’s calibre into the side as he returns from injury, and he’ll be able to use his experience alongside guys that have impressed us in the Premiership this season.

“We’ve really enjoyed our involvement in the competition, we’ve had two great matches and more importantly two opportunities to meet with our partnership clubs and build that relationship.

“It’s exciting for us to be able to bring a capital side to the borders, and on a personal note I’m looking forward to having a match against my old side!”

Edinburgh ‘A’ side to face Southern Knights at the Greenyards
Saturday 22 April, 5pm

15. Nathan Sweeney

14. Finn Douglas
13. Matt Currie
12. Cammy Scott (VC)
11. Jack Blain

10. Bruce Houston
9. Cam Jones (Heriot’s Rugby)

1. Murray McCallum
2. Patrick Harrison
3. Angus Williams
4. Jamie Campbell
5. Michael Badenhorst (Musselburgh RFC)
6. Liam McConnell (C)
7. Jerry Blyth-Lafferty (Boroughmuir Bears)
8. Rudi Brown


16. Mikey Jones
17. Dan Gamble
18. Tom Smith (Stirling County Wolves)
19. Dalton Redpath (Hawick RFC)
20. Charlie Shiel
21. Charlie Savala
22. Ethan Reilly (Hawick RFC)
23. Lewis Wells (Edinburgh Academicals)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners