Currie to debut vs Canada

Currie to debut vs Canada

Edinburgh centre Matt Currie will make his Scotland debut on Saturday, with winger Ross McCann also in line to earn his first cap from the bench.

Luke Crosbie co-captains the side, and is joined in the pack by Glen Young. Harry Paterson earns the 15 jersey, while new signing Ross Thompson will steer the ship at fly-half. Ben Healy and McCann are amongst the replacements.

Centre Currie has previous international experience of playing in the Americas after featuring in Scotland A’s win over Chile in Santiago two years ago.

Sale duo Reed and Warr have impressed for their club this season with winger Reed being involved in the Guinness Six Nations squad. Scrum-half Warr qualifies for Scotland through his Mum, who hails from Strathaven.

URC winners Max Williamson and Gregor Brown have been rewarded for their performances with Glasgow Warriors this season and earn starting berths.

Fellow champions Jamie Dobie (selected on the wing) and stand-off Ross Thompson are also selected from the start with club teammate, centre Stafford McDowall, named as Co-Captain alongside flanker Luke Crosbie, who led Scotland A against Chile in 2022.

Harry Paterson will make his second Scotland appearance at full-back after being named as a late starter in the Guinness Six Nations this year against France.

Sharks’ hooker Dylan Richardson will start the match having previously made his Scotland debut in the back row, against Japan at Scottish Gas Murrayfield in 2021.

He is joined in the front row by Rory Sutherland, the most capped player in the starting 15, along with Elliot Millar Mills who recently won the Premiership with Northampton Saints; club colleague Robbie Smith is selected on the bench.

In the second row, Williamson is joined by Edinburgh’s Glen Young, who will make his third Scotland appearance – his first since 2022 when he featured against Argentina.

In the back row, Bath Rugby’s Josh Bayliss will start at number 8 along with Crosbie at openside, and Gregor Brown on the blindside.

On the bench, Northampton hooker Smith, Glasgow Warriors prop Nathan McBeth, Leicester Tigers prop Will Hurd, Oyannax second row Ewan Johnson and Edinburgh winger Ross McCann will all be aiming for their debuts.

Glasgow Warriors captain Kyle Steyn will provide experience, along with Matt Fagerson who begins to approach 50 caps, and Edinburgh stand-off Ben Healy.

Scotland team to play Canada on Saturday 6 July at TD Place, Ottawa, (kick off 10pm BST / 5pm local) – live on TNT Sports (caps in brackets)

15. Harry Paterson – Edinburgh Rugby (1)
14. Jamie Dobie – Glasgow Warriors (2)
13. Matt Currie – Edinburgh Rugby (uncapped)
12. Stafford McDowall – Co-Captain – Glasgow Warriors (2)
11. Arron Reed – Sale Sharks (uncapped)
10. Ross Thompson – Edinburgh Rugby (3)
9. Gus Warr – Sale Sharks (uncapped)
1. Rory Sutherland – Glasgow Warriors (30)
2. Dylan Richardson – The Sharks (1)
3. Elliot Millar Mills – Northampton Saints (3)
4. Max Williamson – Glasgow Warriors (uncapped)
5. Glen Young – Edinburgh Rugby (3)
6. Gregor Brown – Glasgow Warriors (uncapped)
7. Luke Crosbie – Co-Captain – Edinburgh Rugby (8)
8. Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby (5)


16. Robbie Smith – Northampton Saints (uncapped)
17. Nathan McBeth – Glasgow Warriors (uncapped)
18. Will Hurd – Leicester Tigers (uncapped)
19. Ewan Johnson – Oyonnax (uncapped)
20. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (44)
21. Ben Healy – Edinburgh Rugby (5)
22. Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors (19)
23. Ross McCann – Edinburgh Rugby (uncapped)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners