Edinburgh ‘A’ side named for Watsonians

Edinburgh ‘A’ side named for Watsonians

Rob Chrystie has selected his Edinburgh 'A' side for tomorrow evening's FOSROC Super Series Sprint clash against Watsonians at Myreside (14 April, 7.35pm) - live on BBC Alba.

After a victorious start to the ‘A’ team’s campaign last weekend, Chrystie has named a tweaked starting line-up, that again sees a blend of youth and experience take to the field.

After try scoring outings last week, Nathan Sweeney (full-back) and Finn Douglas (wing) retain their spots in the back three, with Ben Evans earning the second wing berth.

Cammy Scott, who once again vice-captains the side, starts at outside centre alongside Cammy Hutchison in midfield.

In the halves, Bruce Houston starts at stand-off, with Cam Jones named at scrum-half for his first involvement in the capital side.

The pack has three changes from last week’s outing, with Patrick Harrison getting the nod at hooker after a try scoring performance from the bench last week.

He packs down in the front row alongside loosehead prop Murray McCallum, and former Watsonians player Angus Williams at tighthead.

The second row sees Pierce Phillips start once again, with Jamie Campbell completing the boiler room.

Chrystie has named an unchanged back row, with captain Liam McConnell linking up on the flanks with Glen Young, while Rudi Brown maintains the number 8 jersey.

Ahead of the Round 2 clash, Chrystie said: “We’ve been able to maintain a level of consistency from last week’s selection, with a few changes to the starting line-up.

“Patrick Harrison and Bruce Houston both scored from the bench last week, and will be given a chance to start against Watsonians.

“We’re also happy to welcome former Worcester player Will Butler as a guest player in our match day squad, ahead of his move to College Rifles RFC in Auckland.

“It’s a really good test for our guys to play against the reigning champions of the Super Series.

“Watsonians bring a lot of physicality whenever they play, so it’s an exciting opportunity for our younger guys to come up against that challenge.

“Last week’s match at Heriot’s was a great occasion for the club, and we’re looking forward to the same again at Myreside tomorrow.”


Watsonians vs Edinburgh ‘A’ at Myreside, Friday 14 April at 7.35pm

15. Nathan Sweeney

14. Finn Douglas
13. Cammy Scott VC
12. Cammy Hutchison
11. Ben Evans

10. Bruce Houston
9. Cam Jones

1. Murray McCallum
2. Patrick Harrison
3. Angus Williams
4. Jamie Campbell
5. Pierce Phillips
6. Glen Young
7. Liam McConnell C
8. Rudi Brown


16. Adam McBurney
17. Robbie Deans
18. Dan Gamble
19. Michael Badenhorst
20. Alistair McCallum
21. Finn Burgess
22. Will Butler
23. Lewis Wells

Image credit – Malcolm Mackenzie

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners