Edinburgh side named for Treviso trip

Edinburgh side named for Treviso trip

​The Edinburgh Rugby team to face Benetton Rugby in tomorrow night’s pre-season friendly at Stadio Monigo has been named by Head Coach Mike Blair (Friday 9 September, kick-off 6.30pm BST/ 7.30pm local) – streamed live at edinburghrugby.org.

Scotland internationalists Damien Hoyland (wing), Jaco van der Walt (stand-off), Ben Vellacott (scrum-half), Dave Cherry (hooker), Glen Young (lock) and Luke Crosbie (back-row) all return to the starting line-up as Edinburgh close out pre-season with a trip to Treviso.

Back-row Jamie Ritchie once again skippers the capital side, while there are spots on the bench for summer signing Sam Skinner (lock) and Viliame Mata (back-row), with the Fijian international returning to fitness after nine months out through injury.

Edinburgh Rugby Head Coach, Mike Blair, said: “Taking on Benetton is always a great challenge, especially away from home at Stadio Monigo, so tomorrow night’s friendly will be a great opportunity to test our squad against quality opposition that we know well from league action.

“We’re really pleased we can integrate several of our Scotland players back into the squad and it will stand us in good stead as we look ahead to our URC opener against Dragons RFC at DAM Health Stadium in little over a week’s time.

“A lot of our younger academy players will be champing at the bit to make an impact from the bench, while it’s brilliant that we can also welcome back Bill [Mata] who has worked incredibly hard to get back fit for the start of the new season – he’s raring to go.”

Henry Immelman continues at full-back as Jack Blain – twice a try-scorer against London Scottish last weekend – and Hoyland are selected on opposite wings.

Inside-centre Chris Dean – named vice-captain – is paired with Matt Currie (outside centre) in midfield, as Vellacott and Van der Walt combine at half-back.

Hooker Cherry returns to pack down alongside an unchanged prop pairing of Nick Auterac and Angus Williams, while Marshall Sykes retains his place in the middle row alongside the recently capped lock, Young.

The inclusion of Crosbie at openside flanker is the only alteration to an otherwise unchanged back-row as Ritchie (blindside flanker) and Ben Muncaster (number 8) complete the pack.

Edinburgh Rugby team to face Benetton Rugby at Stadio Monigo
Friday 9 September, kick-off 6.30pm BST/ 7.30pm local

15. Henry Immelman

14. Jack Blain
13. Matt Currie
12. Chris Dean VICE-CAPTAIN
11. Damien Hoyland

10. Jaco van der Walt
9. Ben Vellacott

1. Nick Auterac
2. Dave Cherry VICE-CAPTAIN
3. Angus Williams
4. Marshall Sykes
5. Glen Young
6. Jamie Ritchie CAPTAIN
7. Luke Crosbie
8. Ben Muncaster

Replacements: Boan Venter, Jamie Jack, Adam McBurney, Patrick Harrison, Lee-Roy Atalifo, Dan Gamble, Pierce Phillips, Sam Skinner, Jamie Hodgson, Nick Haining, Connor Boyle, Bill Mata, Henry Pyrgos, Charlie Shiel, Charlie Savala, Jake Henry, Cammy Hutchison, Cammy Scott, Harry Paterson.

Unavailable due to injury: Luan de Bruin, WP Nel, Mesu Kunavula, Wes Goosen

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners