Emma Orr to make Edinburgh debut

Emma Orr to make Edinburgh debut

Head Coach Claire Cruikshank has named her squad for Edinburgh Rugby’s Celtic Challenge second round clash against the Irish Wolfhounds at Hive Stadium (Saturday 6 January, kick-off 2pm) – live on BBC Sport website, BBC iPlayer and RugbyPass TV.

Having won an historic opening match against Glasgow last week, the team will look to build on an impressive performance with a consistent selection made to the squad.

Emma Orr comes into the starting line-up, with the Scotland internationalist having missed last week due to illness. The Heriot’s Blues/Biggar flyer moves into the 13 jersey, with Rachel Philipps moving to fullback.

Philipps will be joined in the back-three by Edinburgh University duo Hannah Walker and Cieron Bell – the latter scored Edinburgh’s first ever try last weekend.

Orr is partnered in the midfield by Watsonian FC inside centre Briar McNamara – last week’s player of the match – scoring a brace of tries.

In the half-backs, captain Sarah Denholm is once again at fly-half alongside fellow Scotland internationalist Jenny Maxwell at scrum-half.

The front-row shows two changes, with Scotland internationalist Panashe Muzambe starting at loosehead alongside Watsonian FC tighthead Molly Poolman. Saracens’ Nicola Haynes retains her starting berth at hooker.

The rest of the pack is unchanged from round one, with Fiona McIntosh (Saracens) and Natasha Logan (Edinburgh University) starting at lock.

Alex Stewart starts as vice-captain at openside flanker, alongside Corstorphine Cougars teammate Merryn Gunderson at number eight, with Hartpury University’s Gemma Bell at blindside flanker.

Poppy Fletcher (Edinburgh University) and Katie Lindsay (Corstorphine Cougars) are named as prop replacements, with Millie Whitehouse (Edinburgh University) as replacement hooker.

Adelle Ferrie and Freya Walker (Corstorphine Cougars and Watsonians FC respectively) will look to impact the game as further substitutes in the forward pack.

Leia Brebner-Holden (Gloucester Hartpury & Cheltenham Tigers) is once again the replacement scrum-half, while Nicole Marlow (Cardiff Met) is also amongst the replacements. Nicole Flynn (Edinburgh University) is a further change to the matchday squad, and could make her Edinburgh Rugby debut from the bench.

On the selections, Cruikshank said: “Last week was an incredibly enjoyable occasion for the whole squad, however it’s now about backing up our performance against a strong Wolfhounds side.

“We’re expecting a physical battle, with more of an emphasis on the set-piece and the kicking battle in open play.

“It’s another exciting opportunity for this team, and I’m especially excited for Emma Orr and Nicole Flynn who are both set for their first appearances for the capital.”

Edinburgh Rugby team to face Wolfhounds at Hive Stadium (Saturday 6 January, kick-off 2pm) – live on BBC Sport website, BBC iPlayer and RugbyPass TV.

15. Rachel Philipps (Watsonian FC)*

14. Hannah Walker (Edinburgh University)*
13. Emma Orr (Heriot’s Blues/Biggar RFC)*
12. Briar McNamara (Watsonian FC)
11. Cieron Bell (Edinburgh University)*

10. Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)* CAPTAIN
9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

1. Panashe Muzambe (Exeter Chiefs)**
2. Nicola Haynes (Saracens)**
3. Molly Poolman (Watonian FC)*
4. Fiona McIntosh (Saracens)**
5. Natasha Logan (Edinburgh University)*
6. Gemma Bell (Hartpury University)**
7. Alex Stewart (Corstorphine Cougars)* VICE-CAPTAIN
8. Merryn Gunderson (Corstorphine Cougars)


16. Millie Whitehouse (Edinburgh University)
17. Poppy Fletcher (Edinburgh University)*
18. Katie Lindsay (Corstorphine Cougars)*
19. Adelle Ferrie (Corstorphine Cougars)
20. Freya Walker (Watsonian FC)*
21. Leia Brebner-Holden (Gloucester Hartpury & Cheltenham Tigers)**
22. Nicole Marlow (Cardiff Met)**
23. Nicole Flynn (Edinburgh University)*

*Scottish Rugby Regional Training Centre supported players
**Transitional SQ Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners