Flynn and McIntosh in line for Scotland debuts

Flynn and McIntosh in line for Scotland debuts

Edinburgh Rugby women’s team duo Nicole Flynn (University of Edinburgh) and Fiona McIntosh (Saracens) are in line to make their Scotland debuts against France at Hive Stadium this weekend.

The pair – who both represented the club’s historic women’s team in the recent Celtic Challenge – are named among the replacements as Scotland look to make it two wins from two to start the Championship.

After coming on for Sarah Bonar in the win against Wales, Louise McMillan will start in the second row alongside Emma Wassell, where she will earn her 50th Scotland cap.

Having impressed on debut last weekend, Alex Stewart and Evie Gallagher join captain Rachel Malcolm in an unchanged back row.

Elis Martin makes her first start for Scotland, coming into the front row at hooker, and will pack down with Leah Bartlett (loosehead prop) and Christine Belisle at tighthead.

The backline remains unchanged from last weekend’s history-making clash with Wales, as Caity Mattinson and Helen Nelson retain their half-back partnership, with Lisa Thomson and Emma Orr continuing at centre.

Having both been nominated for Guinness Six Nations Try of the Round for their efforts against Wales, wingers Coreen Grant and Rhona Lloyd will once again line up with Meryl Smith at full-back.

Among the replacements, centre Flynn and second row McIntosh are in contention to win a first cap for Scotland, as they join front row trio Molly Wright (hooker), Lisa Cockburn, Elliann Clarke (loose and tighthead respectively), lock Eva Donaldson, and backline duo Mairi McDonald and Chloe Rollie to complete the matchday 23.

Scotland team to take on France in Round 2 of the Guinness Women’s Six Nations 2024

15. Meryl Smith – Bristol Bears (14)
14. Rhona Lloyd – GB Sevens / Stade Bordelais (47)
13. Emma Orr – Heriot’s Blues (15)
12. Lisa Thomson – GB Sevens (56)
11. Coreen Grant – Saracens (8)

10 Helen Nelson – (Vice-captain) – Loughborough Lightning (56)
9. Caity Mattinson – Gloucester-Hartpury (19)

1. Leah Bartlett – Leicester Tigers (31)
2. Elis Martin – Leicester Tigers (6)
3. Christine Belisle – Loughborough Lightning (31)
4. Emma Wassell – Loughborough Lightning (65)
5. Louise McMillan – Saracens (49)
6. Rachel Malcolm (Captain) – Loughborough Lightning (43)
7. Alex Stewart – Corstorphine Cougars (1)
8. Evie Gallagher – Bristol Bears (23)


16. Molly Wright – Sale Sharks (19)
17. Lisa Cockburn – Leicester Tigers (28)
18. Elliann Clarke – Bristol Bears (7)
19. Fiona McIntosh – Saracens (uncapped)
20. Eva Donaldson – Leicester Tigers (8)
21. Mairi McDonald – Exeter Chiefs (18)
22. Nicole Flynn – University of Edinburgh (uncapped)
23. Chloe Rollie – Loughborough Lightning (62)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners