Graham returns for Galway clash

Graham returns for Galway clash

Scotland wing Darcy Graham makes his return from injury as one of 12 internationals named in the starting Edinburgh Rugby team to face Connacht at The Sportsground tomorrow afternoon (Saturday 25 March, kick-off 3pm) – live on Viaplay.

Graham has been sidelined since early December – when he picked up a knee injury against Munster– but, now once again fit, is handed a start in Galway where he’ll have the opportunity to add to his nine tries scored so far this season.

The capital side are bolstered further by returning internationals Blair Kinghorn, Sam Skinner and Grant Gilchrist who all provide further experience in the starting line-up, with WP Nel also included from the bench.

Ben Muncaster – who signed a two-year contract extension earlier in the week – is included in the starting line-up, having recovered from a foot injury in January.

Elsewhere, Edinburgh welcome the return of prop Luan de Bruin who returns to the matchday squad having recovered from a foot injury.

Ahead of the match, Blair, said: “It’s great to welcome some of our international guys back into the team, and to see Darcy back fit. He’s been in full training for the last couple of weeks and has been looking sharp, so having him back is a real boost.”

In the back-three, Graham returns on the wing alongside Damien Hoyland and Argentine star Emiliano Boffelli gets the nod at full-back.

Scotland duo Mark Bennett and James Lang link up in midfield as Kinghorn combines with scrum-half Henry Pyrgos at half-back.

Up front, club centurion Stuart McInally packs down alongside props Lee-Roy Atalifo and Boan Venter as Skinner and Gilchrist complete the tight-five.

Viliame Mata starts at number 8 with Muncaster and Connor Boyle completing the back-row.


Edinburgh Rugby team to face Connacht at The Sportsground in the BKT United Rugby Championship

Saturday 25 March (kick-off 3pm) – live on Viaplay

15. Emiliano Boffelli (27)

14. Darcy Graham (56)
13. Mark Bennett (84)
12. James Lang (35)
11. Damien Hoyland (103)

10. Blair Kinghorn (130)
9. Henry Pyrgos (80)

1. Boan Venter (42)
2. Stuart McInally (173)
3. Lee-Roy Atalifo (32)
4. Sam Skinner (10)
5. Grant Gilchrist (186) CAPTAIN
6. Ben Muncaster (26)
7. Connor Boyle (29)
8. Viliame Mata (112)


16. Dave Cherry (67)
17. Luan de Bruin (18)
18. WP Nel (184)
19. Marshall Sykes (38)
20. Glen Young (20)
21. Ben Vellacott (35)
22. Chris Dean (133)
23. Nathan Sweeney*

*potential debut

Unavailable: Angus Williams, Matt Currie, Henry Immelman, Wes Goosen, Nick Haining, Pierce Phillips, Murray McCallum, Harry Paterson, Luke Crosbie

Rest Protocol: Jamie Ritchie, Duhan van der Merwe, Pierre Schoeman, Hamish Watson


Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners