Nine selected for U20 opener

Nine selected for U20 opener

Nine Edinburgh Rugby academy players are selected for Scotland U20’s U20 Six Nations opener against Wales U20 at Stadiwm CSM this Friday (2 February, kick-off 6.45pm) – live on BBC iPlayer.

Captain Liam McConnell is named at blindside flanker alongside Freddy Douglas (openside) and Tom Currie (number 8) in an all-Edinburgh back-row.

Tighthead prop Robbie Deans, loosehead prop Ollie Blyth-Lafferty and lock Euan McVie are selected in the tight-five.

Issac Coates is selected at stand-off; the only Edinburgh back to be named a starter in Colwyn Bay.

Hooker Jerry Blyth-Lafferty and Jack Hocking – who can cover 10, 12 and 15 – are both named among the replacements.

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray said: “The team have prepared well for what should be a very competitive match in Colwyn Bay.

“We beat Wales last year at Scotstoun, but our hosts will be sure to use that as fuel to push for a win in front of their home crowd.

“The Under-20 Six Nations is always an exciting time of year for everyone involved. The players have put a lot of time and effort into their own game over the last year and we can’t wait to see them out on the pitch on Friday.“

Scotland U20 team to face Wales U20 on Friday 2 February at Stadiwm CSM, Colwyn Bay (kick off 7.15pm, live on BBC iPlayer)

 15. Fergus Watson* (Glasgow Warriors)

14. Kerr Johnston* (Glasgow Warriors)
13. Geordie Gwynn (Ealing Trailfinders/Brunel University) – Vice Captain
12. Kerr Yule* (Glasgow Warriors)
11. Amena Caqusau* (Glasgow Warriors)

10. Isaac Coates* (Edinburgh Rugby)
9. Murdoch Lock (Bath Rugby/Bath University)

1. Robbie Deans* (Edinburgh Rugby)
2. Elliot Young (Exeter Chiefs/Exeter University)
3. Ollie Blyth-Lafferty* (Edinburgh Rugby)
4. Euan McVie* (Edinburgh Rugby)
5. Ruaraidh Hart* (Glasgow Warriors) – Vice Captain
6. Liam McConnell* (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain
7. Freddy Douglas* (Edinburgh Rugby)
8. Tom Currie* (Edinburgh Rugby)


16. Jerry Blyth-Lafferty* (Edinburgh Rugby)
17. Alex O’Driscoll (Saracens/Loughborough University)
18. Callum Norrie* (Glasgow Warriors)
19. Archie Clarke (Durham University)
20. Monroe Job (Southern Knights)
21. Jonny Morris* (Glasgow Warriors)
22. Eric Davey (Stirling Wolves)
23. Jack Hocking* (Edinburgh Rugby)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners