Squad named for Scottish Building Society Pre-Season Series opener

Squad named for Scottish Building Society Pre-Season Series opener

Edinburgh Rugby today announced the squad for tomorrow night’s Scottish Building Society Pre-Season Series opener against Connacht at Hive Stadium (Friday 29 September, kick-off 7.30pm).

The match sees new Senior Coach Sean Everitt take charge for the first time since being appointed in July as Edinburgh Rugby kick-off the first of two pre-season fixtures at the newly named Hive Stadium, with Bath Rugby next up the following Friday (6 October).

Despite having 15 players unavailable due to the Rugby World Cup – and a number of senior players returning from injury – Everitt is still able to field a strong starting XV, which includes a good blend of youth and experience.

The club is also able to call upon a number of FOSROC Super Series players – and GB Rugby Sevens duo Ross McCann and Jordan Edmunds – as the capital side plays its first home fixture since since 15 April (vs Ospreys) following an extended summer break due to the ongoing Rugby World Cup.

Up-and-coming back-three prospect Nathan Sweeney – who penned his first pro deal last season – is named at full-back with Wes Goosen and GB Rugby Sevens flyer McCann selected on opposite wings.

Matt Currie is named at inside centre as Mark Bennett pulls on his familiar number 13 jersey and captains the side, as newly appointed co-captain Ben Vellacott (scrum-half) misses out due to the upcoming birth of his child.

Another young playmaker, 22-year-old stand-off Cammy Scott, links up with scrum-half Charlie Shiel at half-back.

An experienced front-row sees hooker Adam McBurney pack down alongside Boan Venter (looshead) and Angus Williams (tighthead), as Scotland locks Glen Young and Jamie Hodgson complete the tight-five.

Summer recruits Tom Dodd (blindside flanker) and Cameron Neild (number 8) both start in the back-row alongside openside flanker, Connor Boyle.

Edinburgh Rugby is able to call upon several FOSROC Super Series players with tighthead props Bobby Bratton (Watsonians) and Craig Miller (Ayrshire Bulls), lock Alfie Scopes (Watsonians), centre Matt Davidson and full-back Liam Richman (both Heriot’s Rugby) all named among the replacements.

Edinburgh Rugby Senior Coach Sean Everitt said: “It’s been a long pre-season programme for the squad, so, as you can imagine, there is a lot of excitement and buzz about getting back onto the pitch tomorrow night to face a quality Connacht outfit.

“We are obviously missing a lot of players at the Rugby World Cup, however that provides opportunity for younger players who’ll be eager to make a positive impression, and put their hand up for selection as we look ahead to next month’s BKT United Rugby Championship opener against Dragons.

“We’re excited to see our supporters back at Hive Stadium after such a long summer without matches. Hopefully we can get the crowd on its feet and put in a performance that will stand us in good stead for the season ahead.”

Tickets for Connacht are still available HERE, while the pre-season match-up will also give fans the chance to see the club’s brand-new Macron alternate kit worn for the first time – available both in-store and online at the Scottish Rugby Store.


Edinburgh Rugby team to face Connacht at Hive Stadium in the Scottish Building Society Pre-Season Series
Friday 29 September (kick-off 7.30pm)

15. Nathan Sweeney

14. Ross McCann (GB Rugby Sevens)
13. Mark Bennett CAPTAIN
12. Matt Currie
11. Wes Goosen

10. Cammy Scott
9. Charlie Shiel

1. Boan Venter
2. Adam McBurney
3. Angus Williams
4. Glen Young
5. Jamie Hodgson
6 Tom Dodd
7. Connor Boyle
8. Cameron Neild


Robin Hislop
Mikey Jones
Patrick Harrison
Bobby Bratton (Watsonians)
Craig Miller (Ayrshire Bulls)
Euan McVie
Alfie Scopes (Watsonians)
Liam McConnell
Freddie Douglas
Tom Currie
Scott Steele
Charlie Savala
Jordan Edmunds (GB Rugby Sevens)
Chris Dean
Matt Davidson (Heriot’s Rugby)
Finn Douglas
Liam Richman (Heriot’s Rugby)

Unavailable: Luan de Bruin (back), Dave Cherry (concussion), Mitch Eadie (calf), Jake Henry (knee), James Lang (calf), Ben Muncaster (knee), Harry Paterson (ankle), Marshall Sykes (hand), Tim Swiel (ankle), Ben Vellacott.

International selection: Ewan Ashman, Javan Sebastian, Pierre Schoeman, WP Nel, Sam Skinner, Grant Gilchrist, Luke Crosbie, Jamie Ritchie, Hamish Watson, Viliame Mata, Ben Healy, Blair Kinghorn, Darcy Graham, Duhan van der Merwe, Emiliano Boffelli.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners