McConnell named captain as 11 selected for U20 Six Nations

McConnell named captain as 11 selected for U20 Six Nations

Edinburgh Rugby academy back-row Liam McConnell will once again captain Scotland U20 as the 35-man squad for the upcoming 2024 Under-20 Six Nations was today named by Head Coach Kenny Murray.

After proving himself as a strong co-captain on and off the pitch during last year’s Under-20 Six Nations and World Rugby U20 Trophy campaigns, McConnell has been appointed as the sole leader of the age-grade team.

McConnell is one 11 Edinburgh Rugby players named in the U20 squad who are currently preparing to face Wales U20 at Stadium CSM, Colwyn Bay on Friday 2 February (kick-off 7.15pm, live on BBC iPlayer) in the opening game of the U20 Six Nations.

In the forwards, Robbie Deans (prop), Ollie Blyth-Lafferty (prop), Jerry Blyth-Lafferty (hooker/back-row), Euan McVie (lock), Freddy Douglas (back-row) and Tom Currie (back-row) are all selected.

That cohort are joined in the backs by Hector Patterson (scrum-half), Isaac Coates (stand-off), Jack Hocking (stand-off/centre) and Finn Douglas (back-three).

Scotland U20’s campaign continues the following Friday (9 February) when the junior side host France U20 at Hive Stadium. After the scheduled fallow week, the squad return to Hive Stadium for the final time to host England U20.

In the penultimate game of the tournament, the team will travel to Treviso where they will meet Italy U20 at Stadio Comunale di Monigo. Finally, the Scotland U20 team will face Ireland U20 at Musgrave Park in Cork.

Murray’s squad is made up of 18 forwards and 17 backs, with 16 players returning to represent Scotland’s age-grade side after being involved in the Under-20 Six Nations and/or World Rugby U20 Trophy last year.

Of the 35 players named, 29 have developed their skills in Scottish schools and clubs, with the other six coming through the Scottish Qualified system which identifies potential players from outside of the country who qualify to play for Scotland through certain eligibility criteria.

Last year saw the introduction of the FOSROC Future XV into the FOSROC Super Series Championship. This team was established to better prepare Scotland’s young players for the challenges of international U20 rugby and beyond, allowing the young talent to benefit from the increased game time and level that the Super Series provides.

During the 2023 Championship, 25 of the players named in this Scotland U20 Six Nations squad made appearances for the side.

The squad contains 23 players who are aligned with either Edinburgh Rugby or Glasgow Warriors as part of the FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy. These players train full time alongside the professional club’s senior players, allowing them to immerse themselves in the pro-team environment where they benefit from professional coaches and support staff.

Scotland U20 Head Coach Kenny Murray said: “We’ve been able to name a strong squad today, one which involves many players who, thanks to the involvement of the FOSROC Future XV, have shown a lot of improvement and great promise over the past season.

“This includes the likes of Tom Currie who had the second highest tackle completion rate of the whole Championship and Amena Caqusau who was in the top five try scorers.

“We know how tough the Six Nations can be for this young group, so it has been vital for us to prep the guys the best we can for what should be another exciting competition.

“I’m looking forward to seeing Liam take on the captaincy role by himself this campaign as he has been an outstanding leader for the group over the past year.”

All games will be available to watch live on BBC iPlayer and tickets for both matches at Hive Stadium are available HERE.


Callum Smyth* (Glasgow Warriors)
Robbie Deans* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Alex O’Driscoll (Saracens/Loughborough University)
Ollie Blyth-Lafferty* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Callum Norrie* (Glasgow Warriors)
Jerry Blyth-Lafferty* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Elliot Young (Exeter Chiefs/Exeter University)
Ryan Burke* (Glasgow Warriors)
Ruaraidh Hart* (Glasgow Warriors)
Euan McVie* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Theo Currie (Harlequins/Swansea University)
Fraser Wilson (Hawick RFC)
Freddy Douglas* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Monroe Job (Southern Knights)
Liam McConnell* (Edinburgh Rugby) (CAPTAIN)
Johnny Morris* (Glasgow Warriors)
Archie Clarke (Durham University)
Tom Currie* (Edinburgh Rugby)


Murdoch Lock (Bath/Bath University)
Eric Davey (Stirling Wolves)
Hector Patterson* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Isaac Coates* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Andrew McLean (Boroughmuir Bears)
Matthew Urwin* (Glasgow Warriors)
Kerr Yule* (Glasgow Warriors)
Johnny Ventisei* (Glasgow Warriors)
Geordie Gwynn (Ealing Trailfinders/Brunel University)
Ludo Kolade (Harlequins/Bath University)
Kerr Johnston* (Glasgow Warriors)
Jack Hocking* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Fergus Watson* (Glasgow Warriors)
Amena Caqusau* (Glasgow Warriors)
Finn Douglas* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Logan Jarvie* (Glasgow Warriors)
Finlay Doyle (Loughborough University)


*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy Player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners