Cap numbers confirmed for ‘history makers’

Cap numbers confirmed for ‘history makers’

Edinburgh Rugby has today confirmed the cap numbers for the ‘history makers’; the club’s first-ever women’s side.

In their debut season, the team finished second in the 2023/24 Celtic Challenge Competition, losing just a single game to eventual league winners Wolfhounds.

Under the lead of Head Coach Claire Cruikshank, the capital squad claimed four wins and two draws, beating Glasgow Warriors at Hive Stadium last December in the team’s first-ever match.


With a further home victory against Clovers, and road wins at Welsh sides Gwalia Lightning and Brython Thunder, the team reached the major playoffs where a second-place finish was secured ahead of last weekend’s last-gasp draw against Clovers at Parc y Scarlets.

It’s been an historic inaugural season and one that is today celebrated with the release of the team’s 34 cap numbers – news that is fittingly announced on International Women’s Day.

Reacting to the announcement, Cruikshank said: “It’s brilliant to see all 34 players that represented the club during our first-ever Celtic Challenge campaign honoured today.

“Each and every player to wear the castle on their chest is now part of Edinburgh Rugby’s rich and celebrated history, and with a unique player number, they’ll now always remember their debut for the history makers.”

Awarded player #1 is Sarah Denholm, the team’s stand-off and captain, with player #2 Alex Stewart, back-row and vice-captain. Both players started every fixture during the 2023/24 campaign.

Cruikshank continued: “Sarah and Alex have both been true leaders since we named them captain and vice-captain at the start of the campaign. They give 100% in every session and match, and have both really epitomised what it means to represent this great club. It’s only right we name them player #1 and #2.”

The women’s team player numbers follows on from last season’s 150th anniversary celebrations, in which the club unveiled a comprehensive history project detailing the team’s full list of men’s captains, alongside every men’s player to have worn the castle on their chest throughout the district and professional club’s entire existence.

Edinburgh Rugby Managing Director Douglas Struth added: “It’s been a real privilege to watch our women’s side make history in their first-ever season and I’m delighted to today confirm the 34 cap numbers of those players that helped us reach a second-place finish.

“Claire [Cruikshank], the players, coaching and support staff have been a credit to the club from day one, and we couldn’t be prouder of this trailblazing squad that are now etched in the team’s history books.”

Edinburgh Rugby women’s player numbers

#1 Sarah Denholm
#2 Alex Stewart
#3 Cieron Bell
#4 Gemma Bell
#5 Poppy Fletcher
#6 Merryn Gunderson
#7 Nicola Haynes
#8 Katie Lindsay
#9 Natasha Logan
#10 Nicole Marlow
#11 Jenny Maxwell
#12 Fiona McIntosh
#13 Briar McNamara
#14 Rachel Philipps
#15 Hannah Walker
#16 Leia Brebner-Holden
#17 Panashe Muzambe
#18 Molly Poolman
#19 Millie Whitehouse
#20 Freya Walker
#21 Hannah Chrisp
#22 Hannah Ramsay
#23 Adelle Ferrie
#24 Emma Orr
#25 Nicole Flynn
#26 Caity Mattinson
#27 Aila Ronald
#28 Sophie Murphy
#29 Lisa Thomson
#30 Sam Taganekurukuru
#31 Rhona Lloyd
#32 Zoe Turner
#33 Lucy Kidd
#34 Alison Wilson

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners