Ritchie returns to captain Scotland

Ritchie returns to captain Scotland

Jamie Ritchie is back to lead Scotland as one nine Edinburgh men in Gregor Townsend’s starting line-up for this Saturday’s return leg against France in Saint Etienne.

Blair Kinghorn maintains his starting spot at full-back after a stellar performance against Les Blues last weekend, with Duhan van der Merwe once again named on the left wing.

There is a strong Edinburgh imprint in the pack, with Ritchie joined by vice-captain Grant Gilchrist, and capital props Pierre Schoeman and WP Nel lining up at loose-head and tight-head respectively.

Stuart McInally and Javan Sebastian will look to make impact as front row replacements, while Sam Skinner is also named as a substitute.


Scotland team to play France in Summer Nations Series at Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, St Etienne on Saturday 12 August 2023, kick-off 8.05pm (UK time) – live on Amazon Prime.

15. Blair Kinghorn 

14. Kyle Steyn 
13. Huw Jones
12. Sione Tuipulotu
11. Duhan van der Merwe 

10. Finn Russell
9. Ali Price 

1. Pierre Schoeman
2. George Turner
3. WP Nel
4. Richie Gray
5. Grant Gilchrist
6. Jamie Ritchie
7. Rory Darge
8. Jack Dempsey


16. Stuart McInally
17. Rory Sutherland
18. Javan Sebastian
19. Scott Cummings
20. Sam Skinner
21. Josh Bayliss
22. George Horne
23. Ollie Smith 

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Edinburgh Rugby.


Principal Partners